Waiting

Here am I, waiting for the Lord;

Waiting, waiting….

As life and times pass by.

Here am I

Waiting for the Lord.

In this ancient place of worship

Where prayers are soaked into the stone;

Where people come, friend and stranger

To wait for the Lord.

Is he here? I cannot see.

Is he speaking? I cannot hear.

And so here I am, waiting for the Lord.

But I am one of action,

Lacking the patience of saints.

I need to walk beyond this place

And there I will find the Lord.

Not in that place but carried in my heart and soul

From that place of worship where I waited

For Him who was always within.

Leave a Reply

